« back

                  NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release:  May 2011


Contact:           James Russell, President  (517) 323-6233 or

                         Mary Spagnuolo

                         The Amy Foundation

                         P.O. Box 16091

                         Lansing, MI  48901

The Amy Foundation Awards $34,000 to 15 Writers — First Prize of $10,000 to Ruth J. Colvin for article in The Post-Standard


LANSING, MI—Ruth J. Colvin is the $10,000 first-prize winner of the 26th annual 2010 Amy Writing Award.  Mrs. Colvin is the founder of Literacy Volunteers of America (now ProLiteracy), a national non-profit organization which trains volunteers to teach basic reading/writing and English as a Second Language.  She was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom and inducted into the National Women’s Hall of Fame.  Her article was printed in The Post-Standard of Syracuse, NY on Nov. 26, 2010.


Her winning article, “An Unforgettable Holiday” revolves around the realization that Ruth and her husband, Bob, would be alone for Thanksgiving.  “It was the week before Thanksgiving some years ago, and Bob, and I were feeling sorry for ourselves.  Our son and his family were on the east coast; our daughter and her family on the west coast.  We were in between and feeling lonely….  Most of us consider Thanksgiving a family day.  But what about others who were without family on Thanksgiving?”


Ruth’s article goes on to tell a heartwarming story of how their Thanksgiving Day at a nursing home became an act of discipling those who had no other family or friends to visit them.  This became one of their most meaningful Thanksgiving’s ever.  This story and the actions of Ruth and Bob can serve as an example for all of us to follow in giving back to those who need our love and compassion.  “…Bob and I discovered we had grateful tears welling in thankfulness for our own health, for our family members, for our friends.  We realized, too, that someday we might be in a similar position of yearning for a visit from someone.  Anyone.”


As winner of the Amy Writing Awards $10,000 first prize, Ruth Colvin joins a growing list of authors who for 26 years have shown how a compelling presentation of biblical truth applied to the serious issues of life earns a legitimate place in mainstream print journalism.

The Amy Foundation presented the $10,000 first prize to Mrs. Colvin at the 2011 annual Michigan Prayer Breakfast, Wednesday, May 11, in Lansing. This first prize presentation will be the Amy Foundation’s celebration of the 26th anniversary of the Amy Writing Awards.


The Amy Writing Awards program encourages writers to apply biblical principles to contemporary issues. Articles considered for awards must appear in mainstream print or online news publications and include at least one Bible quotation. The 2010 winning entries were selected from nearly 600 submissions published in the mainstream media (print and online) last year.

Other 2010 award winners are:


“Seeking the Perfect Outcome” by Kendall Wingrove (www.americandaily.com; 6/10/2010) $5,000.00 Second Prize


“Something About That Name” by Cal Thomas (The Washington Examiner; 1/7/2010) $4,000.00 Third Prize


“When A Coach Had to Take a Stand” by C. Byron Buckley (The North Vernon Plain Dealer;  North Vernon, IN; 8/19/2010) $3,000.00 Fourth Prize


“Wish Lists Don't Always Include Good Gifts” by Eileen Button (The Flint Journal;  Flint, MI; 12/19/2010) $2,000.00 Fifth Prize


“Prayers For Hitch” by Tom Flannery (The Carbondale News;  Carbondale, PA; 8/18/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“Deeds, Not Words, Define Who We Are” by Delvyn Case (Portland Press Herald;  Portland, ME; 12/25/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“Faith, Brit Hume and Tiger Woods” by Steve Cornell (Sunday News;  Lancaster, PA; 2/14/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“Listen to God's View of Tolerance” by Claudia Brantley (The Spartanburg Herald-Journal;  Spartanburg, SC; 6/12/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“The Poorhouses of 'A Christmas Carol'” by David Marotta (Charlottesville Business Journal;  Charlottesville, VA; 12/20/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“The Spiritual Pathway to March Madness” by John Murray (The Wall Street Journal; 3/19/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“Is Casual Sex Losing Its Zing?” by Rusty Wright (www.americandaily.com; 5/22/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“Sharing Faith With Your Kids” by Brenda Norris (Bangor Daily News;  Bangor, ME; June 19-20, 2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“For Nate” by Stephen Cloud (The Lillian;  Lillian, AL; 12/1/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit


“Christ Never Cared to Win Popularity Contests” by Robert Michaels (The Benicia Herald;  Benicia, CA; 12/24/2010) $1,000.00 Award of Outstanding Merit



Copies of the winning entries are available upon request or can be reviewed on our website (www.amyfound.org). Entries for the 2011 Amy Awards competition should be submitted to the Amy Writing Awards, P.O. Box 16091, Lansing, MI 48901, and be postmarked by January 31, 2012.


The Amy Foundation believes the historic value system of Western Civilization springs from the Judeo-Christian ethic and must be preserved to ensure a strong America. In addition to the Amy Writing Awards, the Foundation sponsors the Amy Syndicate (www.amyfound.org) and the Church Writing Group Ministry. It also publishes and distributes the Discipled Nation Plan Curriculum.


« back to top

© The Amy Foundation 2006 Privacy Statement